Old Governor’s Mansion

Contact Details

place420 High Street
Frankfort, KY 40601

call(502) 564-3449

email[email protected]

publichistoricproperties.ky.gov

Home to 35 Kentucky Governors from 1798 to 1914, this landmark mansion is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and notable for the eight U.S. Presidents who have visited the home.  This beautiful home is available for tours by appointment made via the contact info on this listing.

One of the oldest Executive residences in the United States, Kentucky’s Old Governor’s Mansion has a rich and diverse history and stands as a reminder of the growth and history of our state.  From its construction as Kentucky’s first Governor’s residence and office of the Governor, through its nearly fifty years as the official residence of our Lieutenant Governors, this building has seen more historic events and has borne witness to more important persons than almost any home in the Commonwealth.

Built in 1797-8 in the Federal style, the home was first occupied by our second governor, James Garrard and his family.

From 1798 until 1914, thirty-five governors and their families lived and entertained here, with James McCreary as the last governor to reside at the mansion.  The mansion served as the office of the Governor until the 1872 Annex building was constructed next to the Old State Capitol in downtown Frankfort.  For several years even after the Governor’s office relocated to the Old Capitol Annex, the Mansion remained a workspace for the governor.

Read more here.